top of page

Grand Marshal Criteria Nominees for this position of honor are chosen  by the NorthEaster Parade Committee for being a pillar in the El Paso Community, Citizens who exemplify and embody all the virtues and valor of our diverse culture and community, especially the diversity of the Northeast Community.

enter text here

Dr Richard Teschner


2022 Grand Marshal

Dr. Richard Teschner is a Professor Emeritus of Linguistics and Spanish who taught full-time at UTEP from 1976-2010 and part-time ever since. He’s been active in El Paso land conservation for the last twenty years. Originally from Milwaukee, Richard has been since 2011 an honorary member of the Castner Heights N.A. For his many activities and donations, Richard received awards from the City such as the Conquistador, the Star on the Mountain, and the Lifetime Achievement of the El Paso Environmental Services Department. In addition, Richard is an active member of the Northeast Business Alliance and elected Vice Chair of the NEBA Foundation, the “Northeast Scholarship” campaign. And then there’s the Castner Range. Richard says: “El Pasoans—especially Northeasterners—have been trying to conserve this land since 1971. The most beautiful parts of the Franklin Mountains are the ones that we see every day, right here in the Great Northeast. Northeasterners know this, and strongly support the conservation work. So GO NORTHEAST, GO NEBA, AND GO CASTNER RANGE!!!”

Joe Picket.jpg

2021 Grand Marshal

Joseph C. "Joe" Pickett (born December 6, 1956) is an American politician who served as a Democratic member of the Texas House of Representatives from 1995 until his resignation in January 2019. Pickett represented the 79th District, which encompasses part of El Paso County.

Pickett started his political career as a City Council member for the City of El Paso, Texas, defeating the incumbent in 1991. He served on the City Council until he was elected to the position of State Representative for the 79th District in 1994.

Rhino LogoOrange.png

2019 Grand Marshals

The El Paso Rhinos are number one in our book, what about you El Paso? Most deserving for their stellar accomplishments but more importantly for their team effort to give back to the community of El Paso.

The team shaved their heads as a Children's Hospital fundraiser for children with cancer to name one of many charity events which give back to our community.

The NorthEaster Parade Committee encourages you to support the El Paso Rhinos.

2018 Grand Marshal

Sheriff Richard D. Wiles was raised and educated in El Paso, graduating from Andress High School in 1979. Sheriff Wiles joined the El Paso Police Department in 1982 and rose quickly to leadership positions serving as a Patrol Officer, Detective, Sergeant, Lieutenant, Captain, Deputy Chief, Assistant Chief, Interim Chief of Police, and was appointed Chief of Police in 2004. In December of 2007, Sheriff Wiles retired from the Police Department to run for El Paso County Sheriff and after being elected, took office in January of 2009.


     Sheriff Wiles was named Andress High School's Outstanding-Ex in 2004 and he attended the University of Texas at El Paso where he earned a Bachelor of Science in Criminal Justice in 1995. He attended and graduated from the Federal Bureau of Investigation's National Academy, the National Executive Institute, and the Bill Blackwood Law Enforcement Management Institute of Texas. Sheriff Wiles subsequently pursued and earned a Master of Science in Criminal Justice from Sul Ross State University in 2001 where he was also named Outstanding Criminal Justice Graduate Student.


     Sheriff Wiles has taught at the El Paso Community College, Park University, and still instructs at the University of Texas at El Paso. Sheriff Wiles has extensive experience in the area of local law enforcement and immigration, as well as border security. As a result, his input is sought out at both the State and Federal levels.

Grand Marshal Tony Lewis 2017, owner of Tony Lewis Collision and Paint, Tony gives back to El                                            Paso, working with and donating to many local causes and non-profit groups. He has been active in local politics for many years, striving to improve Northeast El Paso business climate, housing, lifestyle, and schools. He also promotes environmental sustainability. He has been quoted in the El Paso Times regarding electricity created by solar energy. (His own house has several solar panels.)


     In 1999, Tony was the founding president of the Northeast Business Alliance (NEBA) and is now the NEBA Chairman. This organization promotes local northeast business (their motto “Shop Northeast”). They also create a platform from which local candidates may discuss Northeast issues, get involved in community events, and collect for and support northeast charities like the Child Crisis Center. 

2016 Grand Marshal Jennifer Han, IBF World Champion, El Paso's first World Champ, Two-time USA Boxing Champion, and Three-time Women's National Golden Glove Champion. Jennifer is also an Irvin Alumni and part owner & martial arts insructor at Han's Oriental Martial Arts, 9861 Dyer Street Suite #17, (915) 751-2777.

2015 Grand Marshal: Senator Eliot Shapliegh, Texas Statesman

2014 Grand Marshal: El Paso Northeast Representative Carl Robinson, lifetime resident of the Northeast El Paso, Texas.

2013 Grand Marshal: President Stanley Jobe, Jobe Concrete and Materials, Bronze Sponsor since 2016.

2012 Grand Marshal: President & C.E.O. John Mimbela Sr., Mimbela Contractors Inc., main sponsor since 2012 and currently. John Mimbela has been a great contributor to his community, with a huge passion for the Northeast.

bottom of page